Men's Golf

2016 NCAA DIII National Champions; 13 SCIAC Championships

Men's Golf Selected To NCAA Championships Field

Men's Golf Selected To NCAA Championships Field

The NCAA announced the field for the Division III Men's Golf Championships this afternoon and CMS was one of the 41 teams selected.  This is the sixth time the Stags have qualified for the tournament and the first time since 2006.

A total of 210 participants will compete at the championships. Thirty-one conferences were awarded automatic qualification for the championships. Three teams were selected from Pool B, which consists of independent schools, and schools that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final seven berths were reserved for Pool C, which are schools from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and any remaining Pool B teams.  Five individuals are selected from the remaining players who have not qualified with a team.

The championships consist of both team and individual competition conducted concurrently.  After 36 holes of competition, the field will be cut to the top 15 teams and top six individuals not on one of those teams.

The championships will be held May 15-18, at the Mission Inn Resort, in Howey-in-the-Hills, Fla. The championships will be hosted by Oglethorpe and the Central Florida Sports Commission.