Men's Golf

2016 NCAA DIII National Champions; 13 SCIAC Championships

CMS’ Shigezawa lone D-III golfer on The Ben Hogan Award Watch List for college’s top golfer

Coach Jollymour and Bradley Shigezawa (Photo by John Valenzuela)
Coach Jollymour and Bradley Shigezawa (Photo by John Valenzuela)

FORT WORTH, Texas – Defending NCAA Division III national champion Bradley Shigezawa of the Claremont-Mudd-Scripps men's golf team is the lone Division III golfer named to The Ben Hogan Award Watch List, The Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) announced on Feb. 5. Shigezawa is one of 30 men's collegiate golfers nationally named to The Ben Hogan Award Watch List.

In the 2012-13 season, Shigezawa finished in first in five of the nine events he participated in, which included a conference and national championship. As a team, CMS finished in fifth place in 2013 at the NCAA Division III Championships. Shigezawa, a senior, also had a pair of second place finishes in the 2012-13 season. This past fall, Shigezawa finished in second place at the Embry-Riddle Invitational in Prescott, Ariz. For his efforts during the 2012-13 season, Shigezawa was named the Division III Men's Golf Collegiate Player of the Year by the GCAA and also made an appearance in the June 10, 2013 issue of Sports Illustrated's "Faces in the Crowd' column.

The most prestigious award in men's college golf, The Ben Hogan Award is presented annually to the top men's NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the past 12-month period. The Ben Hogan Award Selection Committee, which votes during each stage of the process, is comprised of leaders in professional, amateur and collegiate golf.

A list of 10 semifinalists, which could include individuals not on the current list, will be unveiled on Wednesday, April 16. On Wednesday, May 7, that group will be pared down to three finalists. The winner will be crowned at a black-tie banquet at Colonial Country Club on Sunday, May 18, prior to the start of the PGA TOUR's Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial.

The award, which was first issued in 1990 and included academic achievement in its original list of standards, revised its criteria for the 2001-02 collegiate season to its current standard of honoring the outstanding amateur collegiate golfer.

Official Press Release (The Ben Hogan Award)

Become a fan of CMS Athletics on Facebook: AthleticsCMS
Follows CMS Athletics on Twitter: @AthleticsCMS
CMS Athletics on Instagram: cmsathletics
Watch CMS Athletics videos on YouTube: ClaremontMuddScripps