Men's Golf

2016 NCAA DIII National Champions; 13 SCIAC Championships

For the third-straight year, Stags return to NCAA D-III Golf Championships

Brad Shigezawa (Photo by Jack Hancock)
Brad Shigezawa (Photo by Jack Hancock)

Release courtesy of

The NCAA Division III Men's Golf Committee has announced the teams and individuals selected to participate in the 2014 NCAA Division III Men's Golf Championships and the No. 10 Claremont-Mudd-Scripps men's golf team is part of the field the NCAA announced on May 5. The Stags earned the SCIAC's automatic bid after winning the conference championship for the first time since 1995 and 10th time overall.

This is the third-straight NCAA appearance for the Stags and eighth time overall. Last season, CMS finished in fifth place while Bradley Shigezawa won the individual national title and in 2012, the team finished in fourth. CMS is one of three SCIAC teams in the field, the others being Redlands and La Verne

The championships will be held May 13-16, at Grandover Resort, in Greensboro, North Carolina. The championships will be hosted by Guilford and the Greensboro Sports Commission.

A total of 210 participants will compete at the 2014 championships. Thirty-one conferences were awarded an automatic qualification for the championships. Three teams were selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions, and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final seven berths were reserved for Pool C, which are institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and any remaining Pool B teams. The top five individuals are selected from the remaining players who have not qualified with a team.

The Texas-Tyler defeated Transylvania to claim its second national title in school history at the 2013 NCAA Division III Men's Golf National Championships. Brad Shigezawa, of Claremont-M-S, took home the top individual honors after four days of consistent play. The championships were played at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, in Destin, Florida, and was hosted by Methodist.

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected for the 2014 championships:

Conferences and teams receiving automatic qualification (31):
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference: Penn State-Behrend
American Southwest Conference: Mary Hardin-Baylor
Centennial Conference: Franklin & Marshall
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin: Illinois Wesleyan
Colonial States Athletic Conference: Cabrini
Commonwealth Conference: Messiah
Commonwealth Coast Conference: Endicott
Empire 8: St. John Fisher
Freedom Conference: Eastern
Great Northeast Athletic Conference: Rhode Island College
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference: Transylvania
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Dubuque
Liberty League: Rochester (N.Y.)
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association: Hope
Midwest Conference: Monmouth (Ill.)
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Saint John's (Minn.)
New England Collegiate Conference: Elms
New England Small College Athletic Conference: Middlebury
North Atlantic Conference: Husson
North Coast Athletic Conference: Wittenberg
North Eastern Athletic Conference: Rutgers-Camden
Northern Athletics Conference: Edgewood
Northwest Conference: Pacific Lutheran
Ohio Athletic Conference: Baldwin Wallace
Old Dominion Athletic Conference: Guilford
Presidents' Athletic Conference: Saint Vincent
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Webster
Skyline Conference Farmingdale State
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Claremont-M-S
Upper Midwest Athletic Conference: Bethany Lutheran
USA South Athletic Conference: LaGrange

Pool B Berths (3):

Pool C Berths (7):
Concordia (Texas)
La Verne
Southwestern (Texas)

Brian Burt, Hampden-Sydney
Rory Doll, Nebraska Wesleyan
Alex Kapraun, St. Thomas (Minn.)
Mikey McGinn, Cal Lutheran
Rick O'Connell, Hampden-Sydney

NCAA Division III Golf webpage (travel and ticket info) (Live Scoring)

Become a fan of CMS Athletics on Facebook: AthleticsCMS
Follows CMS Athletics on Twitter: @AthleticsCMS
CMS Athletics on Instagram: cmsathletics
Watch CMS Athletics videos on YouTube: ClaremontMuddScripps