Four Stags Named To All-SCIAC Soccer Teams, Taylor Player of the Year

Four Stags Named To All-SCIAC Soccer Teams, Taylor Player of the Year

The SCIAC released its 2012 All-Conference Teams today and CMS had four players represented including senior David Taylor (pictured), who was selected Player of the Year.  Harrison Doyle and Jaison Kimura were named First Team All-SCIAC and Jared Bernstein was named Second Team All-SCIAC.  All four players are repeat All-SCIAC honorees.  Doyle earned First Team honors for the fourth straight year becoming the sixth Stag in history to achieve the feat.  Taylor earned First Team honors in 2011 and 2010 and Second Team honors in 2009.  Kimura and Bernstein were both selected Second Team All-SCIAC in 2011.

Taylor led the SCIAC in goals with 13 and finished tied for fourth in assists with four.  He also led the conference in game-winning goals with four.  Doyle finished third in the conference in goals (8) and points (20).  Kimura was one of the top defenders in the conference.  Bernstein finished tied for fourth in assists (5) and tied for seventh in points (15).

All of the All-Conference awards are listed below.

Athlete of the Year – David Taylor, Sr., Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Newcomer of the Year – Jack Day, Jr., Occidental College
Brine Award of Distinction – Reid Sakamoto, Sr., Occidental College

All-SCIAC First Team:
GK – Andreas Silva, Jr., University of Redlands
D – Richie Marquez, Jr., University of Redlands
D – Erik Munzer, Sr., Pomona-Pitzer Colleges
D – Jaison Kimura, So., Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Colleges
D – Brian Russell, Jr., Whittier College
M – Robbie Hull, Sr., Pomona-Pitzer Colleges
M – Reid Sakamoto, Sr., Occidental College
M – Gabe Ramirez, Sr., University of Redlands
M – Adolfo Santos, Sr., Whittier College
F – Srdan Jovanovic, Sr., Whittier College
F – Harrison Doyle, Sr., Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
F – Raul Yepez, Sr., California Lutheran University
F – Charles Izydorek, So., University of Redlands

All-SCIAC Second Team:
GK – Rollie Thayer, Sr., Pomona-Pitzer Colleges
D – Evan Keny-Guyer, Jr., University of Redlands
D – Michael Stoddard, So., Chapman University
D – Bryce Nzeukou, Sr., California Institute of Technology
D – Andrew Geenen, Jr., University of La Verne
M – Matej Kustura, So., University of Redlands
M – Arash Mahboubi, So., Pomona-Pitzer Colleges
M – Francis Maxwell, Jr., Whittier College
M – Boston Kimmel, Fr., Chapman University
F – Mauricio Alfonso, Sr., Chapman University
F – Nathan Shekita, So., Pomona-Pitzer Colleges
F – Jared Bernstein, Sr., Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
F – Ben Murray, Sr., Occidental College