Stags And Athenas Earn Academic Achievment

Stags And Athenas Earn Academic Achievment

The CMS Swimming and Diving Teams received recognition from the College Swimming Coaches Association for outstanding academic achievement during the Spring 2009 semester.  The CMS Athenas ranked 16th among all NCAA D-III teams with a GPA of 3.47.  The Stags ranked 25th on the men's list with a 3.26 GPA.

Each semester the CSCAA ranks Scholar All-American teams based on the squad's GPA for the term.  To be eligible for consideration, the team must exceed 3.0 for the overall GPA.

Individually, 12 CMS swimmers were named to the CSCAA Scholar All-American team.  Student-Athletes must achieve a 3.5 or better semester GPA.  To qualify for the first team, the student-athlete must participate in the NCAA D-III Swimming and Diving Championships.  To qualify for Honorable Mention Scholar All-American, the student-athlete must have achieved an NCAA "B" (provisional) cut during the season.


First Team CSCAA Scholar All-American

Carliann Brashier

Whitney Dawson

Annie Perizzolo

Jenni Rinker

Jordan Stewart


Honorable Mention CSCAA Scholar All-American

Tessa Dover

Danielle Peebles

Amy Tresenrider

Heidi Wolfgruber

Austin Hallett

Vince Schiavoni

Ryan Toohey


The CSCAA honors cap an eventful year for the CMS Stags and Athenas.  Both squads earned SCIAC Championships with 7-0 conference dual meet records and SCIAC championship meet titles.  The wins helped CMS earn the 2008-09 SCIAC All-Sports trophy.

The Athenas placed 6th at the 2009 NCAA D-III Swimming and Diving Championships, the Athenas' best-ever finish at the national meet.  The Stags placed 39th at the meet.  Five CMS swimmers earned All-American honors and four more earned Honorable Mention All-American citations.


Several team members were tabbed for individual honors

SCIAC Swimming/Diving Athlete of the Year-Katie Bilotti

CMC Female Athlete of the Year-Annie Perizzolo

Hank Krieger Award-Jordan Stewart

Berger Award for Outstanding Senior-Jordan Stewart

Glen R Huntoon Award for Superior Teaching at Claremont McKenna College-Coach Charlie Griffiths


At the CMS swimming and diving team's awards banquet, the following student-athletes were honored:


Outstanding Swimmer-Austin Hallett

Outstanding Diver-Garrett Smith

Rookie of the Year-Vincent Pai

Quantum Leap-Milan Reed

Schoenfeld (Most Inspirational)-Ryan Toohey



Outstanding Swimmer-Annie Perizzolo

Outstanding Diver-Clair Geary

Rookie of the Year-Katie Bilotti

Quantum Leap-Whitney Dawson

Critchell (Most Inspirational)-Jordan Stewart