Savard Rookie Of The Year, Seven Athenas Named All-SCIAC

Savard Rookie Of The Year, Seven Athenas Named All-SCIAC

PASADENA, Calif. – On a day when the Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) Postseason Softball Tournament got underway, the SCIAC announced its 2013 All-Conference team and seven Claremont-Mudd-Scripps softball players were selected. The Athenas completed the regular season with a 29-11 overall record and in second place in SCIAC play at 21-7.

Freshman infielder Katie Savard has been named SCIAC Rookie of the Year with a .384 batting average which is ninth in the SCIAC, 33 RBI which is seventh and three homers which is eighth to go along with a .500 on-base percentage and a .580 slugging percentage. The Bellevue, Wash. native had 11 multi-hit games this season. This is the second-straight year that a CMS player has been named Rookie of the Year as sophomore pitcher Hayley Schultz earned the honor in 2012.

First team All-Conference selections for the Athenas are Schultz (23-3, 1.46 ERA, 3 saves), senior infielder Harmony Palmer (.496, 48 runs, 31 RBI) and sophomore utility Marie Bradvica (.366, 41 RBI). Palmer led the conference in batting average and stolen bases while Schultz led in wins and saves and is second in ERA. In 2010, Palmer was the conference's Player of the Year to go along with second team All-SCIAC selections in 2011 and 2012.

A trio of Athenas in freshman outfielder Tara Robinson (.314, 16 steals), freshman designated player Mikayla O'Neal (.312, 14 RBI) and junior infielder Megan Latta (.287, 19 RBI) were also selected to the second team for their efforts in 2013. Robinson finished second during the regular season in conference in steals.

The Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference was established in 1915. The league is currently comprised of nine private colleges and universities in Southern California: California Institute of Technology, California Lutheran University, Chapman University, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Colleges, University of La Verne, Occidental College, Pomona-Pitzer Colleges, University of Redlands, and Whittier College. The conference recognizes outstanding athletic achievements of its student-athletes on a weekly and annual basis.

Become a fan of CMS Athletics on Facebook: AthleticsCMS
Follows CMS Athletics on Twitter: @AthleticsCMS
Follow Athena Softball on Twitter: @CMSAthenaSB