Women's Golf

2018 NCAA DIII National Champions; 5 SCIAC Championships

Athenas Win Inaugural SCIAC Women's Golf Title

Athenas Win Inaugural SCIAC Women's Golf Title

CMS finished first at the SCIAC Championships on Monday and clinched the first title in SCIAC women's golf.  The Athenas shot 659 to win by three strokes over Redlands.  CMS finished with a perfect 30 points in SCIAC competition: five points for each of their SCIAC 18-hole tournament wins and 10 points for the SCIAC Championships win.

All six Athena participants finished in the top 11 overall.  Marissa Suehiro finished second with a score of 161.  Maya Reddy and Lauren Buchanan tied for sixth with a score of 168.  Shaina Raskin was eighth at 169, Elizabeth Diebel tied for ninth at 170 and Tiffany Su tied for 11th at 176.

CMS will now wait to see if they are selected for the NCAA Championships field.  The SCIAC, with only five teams, does not have an automatic bid to the tournament so the Athenas will need to be an at-large selection.  The NCAA Championships will take place May 8-11 at the Zollner Golf Course in Angola, IN.