Weber Named Male Swimmer of the Year, 28 Athenas And Stags Named All-SCIAC

Weber Named Male Swimmer of the Year, 28 Athenas And Stags Named All-SCIAC

PASADENA, Calif. – With the SCIAC Swimming & Diving Championships in the rear view mirror, the conference has released its 2013 All-SCIAC awards for men's and women's swimming and diving and 28 swimmers (14 Athenas and 14 Stags) earned the award. In addition, senior Blake Weber was named SCIAC Athlete of the Year on the men's side.

At the SCIAC Swimming & Diving Championships Feb. 17-19, the Athenas captured their 11th straight conference championship while the Stags won their sixth straight. Any swimmer or relay team that finished in the top three of their event is named All-SCIAC. The complete men's team can be viewed here and the complete women's team can be viewed here.

Weber was the conference champion in the 200-yard individual medley, 100-yard backstroke, 200-yard backstroke and he led off the winning 200-yard medley relay, 400-yard medley relay and 800-yard free relay teams in CMS record times. He also recorded an NCAA 'A' qualifying time in the 200-yard individual medley at 1:50.16 and set meet records in the 200-yard backstroke (1:49.38) and 100-yard backstroke (50.59).

The Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference was established in 1915. The league is currently comprised of nine private colleges and universities in Southern California: California Institute of Technology, California Lutheran University, Chapman University, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Colleges, University of La Verne, Occidental College, Pomona-Pitzer Colleges, University of Redlands, and Whittier College. The conference recognizes outstanding athletic achievements of its student-athletes on a weekly and annual basis.

Complete All-SCIAC team (Women)
Complete All-SCIAC team (Men)
Become a fan of CMS Athletics on Facebook: AthleticsCMS
Follows CMS Athletics on Twitter: @AthleticsCMS