Header Background

Athenas heading to Emory Regional after earning at-large bid to NCAA D-III Championships

(Watch NCAA Division III Volleyball Selection Show)

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The NCAA announced its field of 64 teams on Monday, Nov. 11 for the NCAA Division III Women's Volleyball Championships and the Claremont-Mudd-Scripps volleyball team has earned an at-large bid and is heading to the Emory Regional. Emory University is located in Atlanta, Ga.

CMS (24-6) is scheduled to play Thomas More (24-5) on Friday, Nov. 15 at 12:30 pm (Eastern). Thomas More earned an automatic bid to the NCAA Championships as the President Athletic Conference champion. The Regionals run Friday, Nov. 15 through Sunday, Nov. 17.

The Emory Regional consists of eight teams; Colorado College, Maryville (Tenn.), Thomas More, CMS, Berry, Washington & Lee, Agnes Scott and Emory. The Emory Regional has three teams (No. 6 Emory, No. 11 Colorado College and No. 24 CMS) ranked in the AVCA Top-25 Poll.

CMS joins Cal Lutheran and Pomona-Pitzer as the three representatives from the SCIAC in the NCAA field. Both Cal Lutheran and Pomona-Pitzer are in the Trinity (Tex.) Regional.

This is the fifth time CMS has made the volleyball championships (1985-92-93-97-13). CMS is 3-4 overall in championship play.

Check back on the CMS Athletics website for more information which will be posted as it becomes available.

Emory Athletics website
NCAA D-III Volleyball Championships Interactive Bracket
Printable Bracket

Become a fan of CMS Athletics on Facebook: AthleticsCMS
Follows CMS Athletics on Twitter: @AthleticsCMS
CMS Athletics on Instagram: cmsathletics
Watch CMS Athletics videos on YouTube: ClaremontMuddScripps