Header Background

Cross Country


Both cross country teams and nine individuals earn All-Academic honors

The men's and women's cross country teams along with nine athletes earned All-Academic honors from the United States Track & Field/Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) as announced by the USTFCCCA today. To qualify for the All-Academic award, all members of the team must average a cumulative GPA of 3.10 or better and individuals must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.30 or better and finish in the top 25% at the regional race.

CMS was one of seven teams nationally to have six women earn individual honors: Allison Barnwell (CMC SR), Lisa Beem (SCR SR), Adele Eslinger (CMC SR), Meghan Fuelling (CMC SO), Nicki Maslan (CMC SO) and Sara Mostatabi (CMC JR).  The men had three individuals who qualified:  Colin Briskman (CMC SR), Jonathan Briskman (CMC SR) and Sam Pitcavage (CMC JR).  CMS was one of three teams in the West Region to have three individual qualifiers.  CMS had the most total individuals earn All-Academic honors in the West Region and were one of only two teams to have more than five.

The Athenas, 2013 SCIAC and West Region Champions and 14th place at the NCAA Championships, had a cumulative GPA of 3.515 for their 33 runners through the fall semester while the Stags, 2013 SCIAC Champions and 19th place at the NCAA Championships, had a cumulative GPA of 3.413 for their 35 runners.