Matt Williams and Kris Brackmann named CMS Athlete of the Year

Matt Williams and Kris Brackmann named CMS Athlete of the Year

CLAREMONT, Calif. – The Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Athletics department named Matthew Williams (CMC '17) and Kris Brackmann (CMC '17) the 2017 CMS Athletes of the Year in honor of their contributions to the program this past academic year. The criteria for this honor was centered on the athletes' on-field performance and lasting impact on CMS Athletics.

After winning the NCAA National Championship in the 100-yard backstroke in 2016, Matthew Williams followed up with another outstanding season by finishing second in the same event at the National Championship. He also helped set the CMS and SCIAC All-Time record in the 800-yard freestyle relay at 6:40.17 alongside Ben Culberson, Graham Spurzem, and Jackson Crewe. Williams was awarded SCIAC Athlete of the Year back in the spring after taking first place in the 800-yard freestyle relay, 100-yard butterfly, 100-yard backstroke, 200-yard backstroke and 400-yard medley relay. At the SCIAC Championship, he broke the SCIAC record for the 100 butterfly with a time of 48.66.

Kris Brackmann played a major role in leading the Athenas back in the NCAA Tournament, bringing them past the first round for the second straight season. She was named on the All-SCIAC First Team after averaging 11.6 points, 5.4 rebounds, and 2.0 steals per game, and helped the Athenas win both the SCIAC Championship and Tournament for the fourth consecutive season. An outstanding leader to the Athenas, Brackmann was honored with the Dickinson Award at the end of the academic year.

By Young Kim
Sports Information Assistant

CMS Email Updates
CMS Athletics on Facebook: AthleticsCMS
CMS Athletics on Twitter: AthleticsCMS
CMS Athletics on Instagram: cmsathletics
CMS Athletics YouTube: ClaremontMuddScripps
#goathenas    #gostags