Men's Golf

2016 NCAA DIII National Champions; 13 SCIAC Championships

Reddy, Stein, Shigezawa Receive GCAA Awards At NCAA Championships

Reddy, Stein, Shigezawa Receive GCAA Awards At NCAA Championships

DESTIN, Fla. – At the NCAA Division III Golf Championships, May 14-17, the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) announced its postseason awards and three Claremont-Mudd-Scripps men's golfers have been selected. The GCAA released both its Division III PING All-Region teams along with its Division III Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholars.

Freshman Kethan Reddy and junior Bradley Shigezawa both were selected to the All-West Region team joining 12 other West Region golfers, including seven other from SCIAC schools. Players across six regions – Northeast, Mid-Atlantic, South, Great Lakes, Central and West – earned all-region honors for 2013.Through two rounds at the NCAA Championships, both Reddy and Shigezawa were in the top-10 and when Shigezawa completed his third round on Thursday, he led the field with a one-stroke lead over Cameron Button of Southwestern (Tex.), at three-under, with players still on the course, including Button.

Shigezawa and junior Jordan Stein were selected as Division III Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholars. To be eligible for Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholar status an individual must be a junior or senior academically and compete in at least two full years at the collegiate level, participate in 50-percent of his team's competi­tive rounds or compete in the NCAA Championships, have a stroke average under 79.0 in Divi­sion III and maintain a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.2. A recipient must also be of high moral character and be in good standing at his college or university.

For more information on the NCAA Championships and to follow live scoring, click here.

NCAA Championships Scoreboard
GCAA All-Region release
GCAA All-America Scholars release

Become a fan of CMS Athletics on Facebook: AthleticsCMS
Follows CMS Athletics on Twitter: @AthleticsCMS