Stags and Athenas Earn Academic Honors

The CMS Swimming and Diving Teams received recognition from the College Swimming Coaches Association for outstanding academic achievement during the Spring 2011 semester.  The CMS Stags ranked 23rd among all NCAA D-III teams with a GPA of 3.24.  The Athenas ranked 24th on the women's list with a 3.42 GPA.

Each semester the CSCAA ranks Scholar All-American teams based on the squad's GPA for the term.  To be eligible for consideration, the team must exceed 3.0 for the overall GPA.

Individually, 11 CMS swimmers were named to the CSCAA Scholar All-American team.  Student-athletes must achieve a 3.5 or better semester GPA.  To qualify for the first team, the student-athlete must participate in the NCAA D-III Swimming and Diving Championships.  To qualify for Honorable Mention Scholar All-American, the student-athlete must have achieved an NCAA "B" (provisional) cut during the season.

First Team CSCAA Scholar All-American

Katie Bilotti
Tessa Dover
Kristie Howard
Jordan Lieberman
Helen Liu
Jeff McNerney
Jenni Rinker

Honorable Mention CSCAA Scholar All-American

Carliann Brashier
Annika Jessen
Tara McIntyre
Heidi Wolfgruber


CMS swimming and diving earned several other post-season academic honors, beyond the CSCAA SAA nods.

The SCIAC Conference recognized 10 Athenas and eight Stags on the SCIAC All-Academic Team for posting a greater than 3.40 GPA, completing more than two full semesters at CMC, HMC or Scripps College, and competing in the SCIAC championships.

Athenas:  Juliet Archer, Carliann Brashier, Kelly Chang, Tessa Dover, Carmen Lundell, Tara McIntyre, Teija Mortvedt, Jenni Rinker, Amy Tresenrider, Heidi Wolfgruber

Stags:  Christophe Bindert, Brendan Huss, Nathan Lenssen, Robert MacGregor, Jeff McNerney, Brad Perfect, Jake Roth, Elliot Smith

Six CMS swimmers etched spots on the CMS "Wall of Fame" for being individual first team All-SCIAC performers during their careers and graduating with a better than 3.0 GPA:  Carliann Brashier, Tessa Dover, Nick Ostreim, Annie Perizzolo, Jenni Rinker, and Heidi Wolfgruber.

The academic honors cap an outstanding year for the CMS Stags and Athenas.  Both squads earned SCIAC Championships with a combined 13-1 conference dual meet record and SCIAC championship meet titles.  The wins helped CMS earn the 2010-11 SCIAC All-Sports trophy.

The Athenas placed seventh at the 2011 NCAA D-III Swimming and Diving Championships and the Stags placed 17th at the meet.  Ten CMS swimmers earned All-American honors and six more earned Honorable Mention All-American citations.  Varsity records were set 15 times in 11 events over the course of the season.

Several team members were tabbed for individual honors

SCIAC Swimming/Diving Athlete of the Year—Michele Kee

HMC Athlete of the Year—Vincent Pai

NCAA Elite 88 Award—Tessa Dover

Hank Krieger Award—Tessa Dover


At the CMS swimming and diving team's awards banquet, the following student-athletes were honored:


Outstanding Swimmer—Jordan Lieberman

Outstanding Diver—Andrew Fevery

Rookie of the Year—Bo Lee

Quantum Leap—Joey Klonowski

Schoenfeld (Most Inspirational)—Ian McGinnity



Outstanding Swimmer—Michele Kee

Outstanding Diver—Carmen Lundell

Rookie of the Year—Michele Kee

Quantum Leap—Ellie Smith

Critchell (Most Inspirational)—Heidi Wolfgruber