Stag And Athena Swimmers & Divers Receive Academic Accolades

Stag And Athena Swimmers & Divers Receive Academic Accolades

The Claremont-Mudd-Scripps swimming and diving teams received recognition from the College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) for outstanding academic achievement during the Spring 2013 semester. The CMS Stags achieved a team GPA of 3.30 and the Athenas posted a cumulative 3.44 GPA. Each semester the CSCAA honors teams with its Team Scholar All-American award based on the squad’s GPA for the term. To be eligible for consideration, the team must exceed 3.0 for the overall GPA.

Individually, 10 CMS swimmers and divers were named to the CSCAA Scholar All-American team. Student-athletes must achieve a 3.50 or better semester GPA. To qualify for the first team, the student-athlete must qualify for and participate in the NCAA D-III Swimming and Diving Championships. To qualify for Honorable Mention Scholar All-American, the student-athlete must have achieved an NCAA “B” (provisional) cut during the season.

First Team CSCAA Scholar All-American
Devin Bowers

Jordan Lieberman
Brad Perfect
Patrick Shultz
James Stevick
Cameron Whiting

Honorable Mention CSCAA Scholar All-American

Louisa Dunwiddie

Kristie Howard
Mackenzie Leake
Helen Liu

Complete CSCAA Scholar All-Americans and All-America teams

Beyond the CSCAA Scholar All-American accolades, CMS swimming and diving earned several other postseason academic honors:

Kristie Howard won the CMS Scholar-Athlete of the Year award and was named to the CoSIDA Capital One Academic All-District At-Large team for District 8.

The Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) recognized 15 Athenas and nine Stags on the SCIAC All-Academic team for posting a greater than 3.40 GPA, completing more than two full semesters at CMC, HMC or Scripps College, and competing in the 2013 SCIAC Championships.

Athenas: Sloan Caldwell, Louisa Dunwiddie, Ali Fisher, Alex Forsyth, Sierra Gibson, Kristie Howard, Laura Jeddeloh, Annika Jessen, Mackenzie Leake, Helen Liu, Nicole Lotte, Carmen Lundell, Kaela Nurmi, Jackie Olmos-Silverman, Dana Shaker

Stags:  Brett Berger, Brian Key, Joey Klonowski, Robert MacGregor, Brad Perfect, Jake Roth, Patrick Shultz, James Stevick, Cameron Whiting

Four CMS swim/dive team members etched their names on the CMS “Wall of Fame” for earning First Team All-SCIAC honors and during their careers and graduating with a better than 3.0 GPA:  Jordan Lieberman, Carmen Lundell, Emily Ott and Blake Weber.

The academic honors help celebrate an excellent year in the pool for the CMS Stags and Athenas.  Both squads earned SCIAC Championships with matching 8-0 conference dual meet records and SCIAC championship meet titles. After the championship meet, senior Blake Weber was named the 2013 SCIAC Men’s Swim/Dive Athlete of the Year.  The swim/dive team wins helped CMS earn the 2012-13 SCIAC men’s, women’s and combined All-Sports trophy.

At the national level, the Stags placed 10th at the 2013 NCAA D-III Swimming and Diving Championships in Shenandoah, Texas, assisting CMS’s 13th place finish in the Learfield Director’s Cup. All told, CMS set varsity records in 12 events during the 2012-13 season.

Head coach Charlie Griffiths was awarded the American Swimming Coaches Association “Certificate of Excellence” for the 11th time in his 12 years at the helm of the CMS program.

At the CMS swimming and diving team’s awards banquet, the following student-athletes were honored:

Outstanding Swimmer—Michele Kee
Outstanding Diver—Carmen Lundell
Rookie of the Year—Maddy Gebhard/Maya Kale
Quantum Leap—Louisa Dunwiddie
Critchell (Most Inspirational)—Kristie Howard 

Outstanding Swimming—Blake Weber
Outstanding Diver—James Stevick
Rookie of the Year—Joey Hinton
Quantum Leap—Cameron Whiting
Shoenfeld (Most Inspirational)—Jordan Lieberman