Stags Wrap Regular Season With Win Over Chapman

Stags Wrap Regular Season With Win Over Chapman

ORANGE, Calif. – The No. 9 Claremont-Mudd-Scripps men's swimming and diving team wrapped up the regular season with a 219-74 victory over the Chapman Panthers on Saturday morning. The Stags were dominate at times, taking at least the top three spots in seven different events and winning a total of 13 events on the day.

Kendall Hollimon (CMC), Ben Culberson (CMC), and Henry Limm (HMC) each won a pair of events to lead the Stags on the day. Hollimon claimed both diving competitions with scores of 326.70 (one-meter) and 338.00 (three-meter). Culberson took the 200 Free (1:45.88) and 500 Free (4:46.96) while Limm won the 200 Fly (1:54.58) and 400 IM (4:09.21).

Hollimon's victory in the three-meter competition came by more than 90 points while his one-meter win was much tighter. While it was closer, Hollimon did finish more than 37 points ahead of his nearest competitor.

In the 200 Fly, Limm just barely out touched teammate Aaron Lutzker (HMC) with a time of 1:54.58. Lutzker was a fingertip behind at 1:54.60. In the 400 IM, Limm won the event with a time of 4:09.21 to finish just over two seconds ahead of second-place.

As mentioned, Culberson won a pair of freestyle events with victories in the 500 and 200 Free. In both of the events he won, the Stags took the top four spots. First he claimed the 200 Free, with a time of 1:45.88. Then in the 500 Free, Culberson topped teammate Jacob Eyon (CMC) by less than four seconds with a time of 4:46.96.

Eyon added to his second-place finish in the 500 Free with a victory in the 1650 Free. He won the event with a time of 16:52.65, more than five seconds in front of a group of three teammates who finished second to fourth.

Like Eyon, Lutzker won an event to join his runner-up finish. Lutzker claimed the 200 Breast with a time of 2:06.21. The Stags took the top three spots in the race with Tyler Welty (CMC) taking second in the event with a time of 2:07.11.

Other individual winners included Kyle Halbrecht (CMC) in the 100 Back (53.59), Marco Conati (HMC) in the 100 Fly (51.99), and Andreas Roeseler (HMC) in the 100 Free (47.78).

In addition to the 11 individual victories, CMS took the top spot in both of the relays. First, the team of Dave Makhervaks (HMC), Welty, Jackson Crewe (HMC), and Roeseler won the 200 Medley Relay with a time of 1:33.66. Then in the team of Daniel Hayon (CMC), Conati, Roeseler, and Makhervaks won the 200 Free Relay, touching in 1:25.97. Their time was less than a second ahead of the second-place CMS team.

With the regular season over, the Stags will turn their attention to the SCIAC Championships that will begin on Feb. 21.