Stags Win SCIAC Opener, Then Fall to #1 APU

The #6 ranked CMS Stags opened their home and SCIAC schedule by defeating Whittier College 7-0 on Saturday morning, and then lost 7-0 to NAIA #1 ranked team Azusa Pacific University in the afternoon. Against Whittier, the Stags lost only one game in three doubles matches to win the doubles point, and then went on to win at all six singles positions without losing a set. Freshmen Ben Hough, Kirthi Narasimhan, and Stephen Wolcott all got their first collegiate dual match singles wins, while upperclassmen Michael Kayatta (Jr),Carl Yerger (Sr) and Chris Jazwa (Sr) maintained their perfect career records against the Poets. In the afternoon match with APU, the Stags were outmanned against a veteran lineup of nationally ranked singles and doubles players. The Stags were unable to win a set in nine matches. The split gives the Stags a 2-4 record overall, and puts them at 1-0 in the SCIAC. Next up for the Stags is an away match against SCIAC opponent La Verne on Friday, February 18, followed by home contests against Occidental and Chapman on Saturday, February 19.

CMS 7, Whittier 0


1. W. Ellison / Feldhausen (CMS) def. Ainsworth / Julia 8-1

2. Hough / Oehm (CMS) def. Hallauer / Zehr 8-0

3. Chow / Evans (CMS) def. Manning / Mattys 8-0


1. Ben Hough (CMS) def. Nick Julia 6-4, 6-2

2. Kirthi Narasimhan (CMS) def. Eric Ainsworth 6-1, 6-0

3. Michael Kayatta (CMS) def. Trey Astbury 6-2, 6-2

4. Stephen Wolcott (CMS) def. Eric Mattys 6-0, 6-0

5. Carl Yerger (CMS) def. Adrian Hallauer 6-0, 6-0

6. Chris Jazwa (CMS) def. Joe Choi 6-4, 6-2


Azusa Pacific 7, CMS 0


1. Davidson / Fletcher (APU) def. W. Ellison / Feldhausen (CMS) 8-4

2. Bakalov / Jelsma (APU) def. Hough / Oehm (CMS) 8-5

3. Goodman / Hong (APU) def. K. Ellison / Evans (CMS) 8-4

APU led 1-0 after doubles


1. Sam Fletcher (APU) def. William Ellison (CMS) 7-5, 6-1

2. Boris Bakalov (APU) def. David Oehm (CMS) 6-1, 6-1

3. David Goodman (APU) def. Jason Evans (CMS) 6-1, 6-3

4. Adam Davidson (APU) def. Evan Feldhausen (CMS) 6-1, 6-2

5. Gordon Hong (APU) def. Ben Hough (CMS) 6-1, 6-1

6. Tom Jelsma (APU) def. Kirthi Narasimhan (CMS) 6-3, 6-4