Stags To Host Second And Third Rounds Of NCAA Championships

Stags To Host Second And Third Rounds Of NCAA Championships

The SCIAC Champion Stags have been selected to host the second and third round of the NCAA Championships this weekend. Two matches will take place on Saturday with the winners facing off on Sunday. All three matches will take place at the Smith and Marks Courts on the CMC campus.

CMS, the nation's second ranked team, will host #20 Whitman College at 10:00 on Saturday.  #1 UC Santa Cruz will host #10 University of Redlands at 2:00.  The winners of Saturday's matches will meet at 12:00 pm on Sunday for the right to advance to the quarterfinals which will take place on May 13 at Bates College in Lewiston, Maine.

The Stags are 3-0 this year against the other teams in the field.  They won at Redlands 5-4 on April 12 and beat UC Santa Cruz the next day at home by the same score.  CMS beat Redlands in the SCIAC Championship final 8-1 at home on April 19.  UC Santa Cruz, the defending NCAA Champions, are 2-1 against the field.  They won at Redlands on April 11 and won at Whitman 8-1 on February 9. Redlands is 1-2 against the field as they beat Whitman at home 7-2 on March 13.  CMS and Whitman have not played this season.

The results of all the matches will be updated continuously during the competition.  Those results can be found at:

Saturday May 3, 2008

#2 CMS def #20 Whitman 5-1

#1 UC Santa Cruz def #10 Redlands 5-3

Sunday May 4, 2008

#2 CMS def #1 UC Santa Cruz 5-3