Men’s Tennis Wins 4th Straight Conference Title

Men’s Tennis Wins 4th Straight Conference Title

CMS Stags Tennis won it’s 4th straight outright conference title, capturing the SCIAC tournament title by defeating Redlands 8-1 on Saturday. Senior captain Lawrence Wang (Orange, CA) led the Stags with two more convincing wins at #1 singles and #1 doubles, and earned SCIAC Player of the Year honors for an unprecedented third consecutive year.

After a shaky start in doubles where the Stags found themselves down a break at two of the three positions, CMS settled down to win at #1 and #2 by 8-3 margins. Wang and Mikey Lim (Jr. - Honolulu, HI), won their third straight together at #1, while Robbie Erani (Fr. - New York, NY) and Ronald Wu (So. – Los Altos, CA) won their twelfth match as a #2 team. In the singles, CMS jumped out to early leads in five of the six singles, and then went on to win at each position with the loss of only one set.

In addition to Wang – who was selected as SCIAC Player of the Year – three other Stags earned All-SCIAC accolades. Erani, was named to the All-SCIAC 1st Team, while Lim and Wu earned 2nd Team all conference honors. (See Photo of all four honorees). Both Lim and Wu had perfect records in conference play.

In winning the SCIAC Tournament title, CMS extends it’s conference win streak to 41 matches, spanning four years. CMS finishes league play with a perfect 10-0 mark, and is 25-4 overall. Next up for CMS is the prestigious Ojai Valley Tournament, which begins this Friday. The Stags will have eight singles players and four doubles teams in the Ojai draw.

#3 Claremont-Mudd-Scripps 8 vs #8 Redlands 1
April 18, 2009 in SCIAC Tournament Championship Match (Redlands East Valley HS)

1. Mikey Lim / Lawrence Wang (CMS) def. Cam Spearman / Mike Reading (RED) 8-3
2. Robbie Erani / Ronald Wu (CMS) def. Keven Wong / Jeff Hammond (RED) 8-3
3. Chris Trippel / Casey Fashouer (RED) def. Eric MacColl / Guillaume Schils (CMS) 8-2

1. Lawrence Wang (CMS) def. Cam Spearman (RED) 6-0, 6-1
2. Robbie Erani (CMS) def. Mike Reading (RED) 3-6, 6-4, (10-6)
3. Mikey Lim (CMS) def. Chris Trippel (RED) 6-3, 6-3
4. Eric MacColl (CMS) def. Matt Liebman (RED) 6-2, 6-1
5. Victor Chien (CMS) def. Aron Ouye (RED) 6-2, 6-0   
6. Russell Brockett (CMS) def. Keven Wong (RED) 6-0, 6-1

Order of completion
Doubles: 1, 3, 2
Singles: 1, 6, 4, 3, 5, 2