Stags Stop #6 PLNU in Regular Season Finale

Stags Stop #6 PLNU in Regular Season Finale

Sophomore Alex Lane (Claremont, CA) earned a match-clinching three-set win at #1 singles to give CMS a 5-4 victory over 6th ranked Point Loma Nazarene on Thursday at the Biszantz Family Tennis Center. CMS finishes the regular season with a 25-3 record and awaits the NCAA team draw release on Monday.

Lane's 23rd singles win this spring was also his most peculiar. With the 12th ranked Joel Myers serving at 4-5 deuce in the deciding set, Myers approached and missed a forehand volley into the net. His reaction - firing the ball over the south fence of court #1 - resulted in him being assessed a point penalty on match point, giving Lane and the Stags the victory. It was the second straight big win for Lane in which he didn't need to convert a match point, following Pybas' retirement in the Ojai singles final on Sunday.

Lane and partner Brandon Wei (Jr. - Lake Oswego, OR) got CMS' first point of the afternoon with an 8-3 win at #2 doubles. It was the Stags' second pair's eighth consecutive dual match win, and they are now 20-4 as a team.

Russell Brockett (Sr. - Austin, TX) was the only other two match winner on the day for the Stags. Brockett and partner Robbie Erani (Jr. - New York, NY) won their 11th match of the spring with an 8-6 victory at #3 doubles. Brockett then produced a straight set win at #4 singles - his 20th this season - which enabled the Stags to take a 4-3 advantage in the dual match.

#3 Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (5) vs. #6 Point Loma Nazarene (4)
May 5, 2011 at Claremont, CA (Biszantz Family Tennis Center)

1. Joel Myers / KC Ensley (PLNU) def. Zhenya Pereverzin / Ronald Wu (CMS) 8-5
2. Alex Lane / Brandon Wei (CMS) def. Diego Tavera / Tyler Bowman (PLNU)  8-3
3. Russell Brockett / Robbie Erani (CMS) def. Angel Tavera / DJ Jaehnig (PLNU) 8-6

1. Alex Lane (CMS) def. Joel Myers (PLNU) 7-6(5), 6-7(5), 6-4
2. Tyler Bowman (PLNU) def. Robbie Erani (CMS) 6-4, 6-2
3. Alex Johnson (CMS) def. KC Ensley (PLNU) 4-6, 6-0, 6-1
4. Russell Brockett (CMS) def. Diego Tavera (PLNU) 6-4, 6-3
5. DJ Jaehnig (PLNU) def. Ronald Wu (CMS) 6-2, 6-0
6. Mikey Zablan (PLNU) def. Mac Cahill (CMS) 7-5, 6-3

Order of completion
Doubles: 2, 1, 3
Singles: 5, 2, 4, 3, 6, 1