Men's Tennis Wins Sixth Straight SCIAC Title

Men's Tennis Wins Sixth Straight SCIAC Title

CMS Men's Tennis won it's sixth straight outright SCIAC title on Saturday, as the Stags defeated 8th ranked Pomona-Pitzer 8-1. CMS swept the doubles and then won five of six singles to earn their 57th straight conference match. The Stags were led by All-SCIAC selections pictured left to right: Russell Brockett (Sr. - Austin, TX), Robbie Erani (Jr. - New York, NY), Ronald Wu (Sr. Capt -Los Altos, CA), Alex Johnson (So. - Thousand Oaks, CA), and Alex Lane (So. - Claremont, CA).

Lane becomes the fifth CMS recipient of the past six seasons to win the coveted SCIAC Player of the Year award. His singles win at #1 on Saturday improved his conference record to 6-1, while he remained a perfect 7-0 in conference with partner Brandon Wei (Jr. - Lake Oswego, OR) at #2 doubles. Johnson, who earned 1st Team All-SCIAC honors for his record at #2 and #3 singles, picked up his second straight set win over Pomona-Pitzer's Frankie Allinson in a week. Brockett, named to the 2nd team All-SCIAC for the second straight year, picked up his 17th win in singles and 18th in doubles. Erani, who has seen limited action due to injury this season, earned 2nd Team honors, after having earned 1st Team honors each of his first two seasons. And finally Wu, who leads the Stags with 22 singles and 20 doubles wins on the season, earned 2nd Team honors, after having done so his sophomore year.

CMS is 24-3 overall and finishes out conference play at a perfect 8-0. Next up for the Stags is the prestigious Ojai Valley Tournament beginning this Friday, April 19 at Moranda Park in Port Hueneme, California. CMS will have eight singles players and four doubles teams represented in the tournament.

#3 Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (8) vs. #8 Pomona-Pitzer (1)
April 23, 2011 at Claremont, CA (Biszantz Family Tennis Center) SCIAC Tournament Final

1. Zhenya Pereverzin / Ronald Wu (CMS) def. Tommy Meyer / Frankie Allinson (Pomona-Pitzer) 8-6
2. Alex Lane / Brandon Wei (CMS) def. Uday Singh / Max Sabel (Pomona-Pitzer) 8-2
3. Russell Brockett / Robbie Erani (CMS) def. Alex Groth / Chris Wiechert (Pomona-Pitzer) 8-3

1. Alex Lane (CMS) def. Tommy Meyer (Pomona-Pitzer) 5-7, 6-2, (10-3)
2. Robbie Erani (CMS) def. Chris Wiechert (Pomona-Pitzer) 3-6, 6-2, (10-8)
3. Alex Johnson (CMS) def. Frankie Allinson (Pomona-Pitzer) 6-4, 6-2
4. Russell Brockett (CMS) def. Uday Singh (Pomona-Pitzer) 7-5, 6-3
5. Ronald Wu (CMS) def. Max Sabel (Pomona-Pitzer) 6-2, 6-0
6. Nick Tagliarino (Pomona-Pitzer) def. Zhenya Pereverzin (CMS) 7-5, 6-1

Order of completion
Doubles: 3, 2, 1
Singles: 5, 3, 2, 6, 4, 1