Stags Stop #7 Cal Lutheran 5-1 in NCAA Opener

Stags Stop #7 Cal Lutheran 5-1 in NCAA Opener

CMS Stags Tennis won a 5-1 decision over 7th ranked Cal Lutheran in second round NCAA action on Friday and will face #6 UC Santa Cruz in the west region final Saturday. Freshman Nik Marino (San Diego, CA [pictured right]) won at #2 doubles and then provided the clinching singles victory at #4.

Cal Lutheran was first on the scoreboard after winning 8-2 at #3 doubles, earning their lone point of the dual match. Stags' #2 pair Warren Wood (Fr. - Del Mar, CA) and Marino evened the score with a comfortable 8-4 victory, leaving a re-match of the Ojai doubles final to determine which team would have the advantage going into singles. CMS' top team Alex Lane (Jr. - Claremont, CA) and Robbie Erani (Sr. Capt - New York, NY) validated their Ojai victory with a hard fought 8-6 win which kept the Stags ahead for good.

In the singles, CMS got early leads and won first sets at five of six positions, using their depth in the lower half of the lineup to provide the knockout punch. Junior Mac Cahill (Southport, CT) won his 15th match of the season and eighth of his last nine with a straight set effort at #6. Junior Alex Johnson (Thousand Oaks, CA) increased the Stags lead to 4-1 with a similar 6-2, 6-3 win at #5. With Wood up a set and early in the second at #1, and Lane poised to close out a 6-2, 5-3 lead at #2, it was Marino at #4 who provided the final blow for his 18th singles win of the year.

CMS will look to avenge a 6-3 loss on March 10 at UC Santa Cruz, with the winner of Saturday's third round NCAA match advancing to the Elite 8 in Cary, N.C.

#5 Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (5) vs. #7 Cal Lutheran (1)
May 11, 2012 at Claremont, CA (Biszantz Family Tennis Center) - NCAA Team Championship 2nd Round

1. Robbie Erani / Alex Lane (CMS) def. Nicholas Ballou / Ray Worley (Cal Lu) 8-6
2. Warren Wood / Nik Marino (CMS) def. Justin Wilson / Connor Treacy (Cal Lu) 8-4
3. Thomas Millet / Marcelo Sousa (Cal Lu) def. Neel Kotrappa / Brandon Wei (CMS) 8-2

1. Warren Wood (CMS) vs. Nicholas Ballou (Cal Lu) 7-5, 1-2 DNF
2. Alex Lane (CMS) vs. Justin Wilson (Cal Lu) 6-2, 5-3 DNF
3. Robbie Erani (CMS) vs. Ray Worley (Cal Lu) 4-6, 2-2 DNF
4. Nik Marino (CMS) def. Connor Treacy (Cal Lu) 6-3, 6-3
5. Alex Johnson (CMS) def. Thomas Millet (Cal Lu) 6-2, 6-3
6. Mac Cahill (CMS) def. Nick Jacobs (Cal Lu) 6-3, 6-2

Order of completion
Doubles: 3, 2, 1
Singles: 6, 5, 4