CMS To Host NCAA Men's Tennis Opening Rounds

CMS To Host NCAA Men's Tennis Opening Rounds

CMS will host the opening rounds of the NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Chamionships this Friday through Sunday, May 10-12 at the Biszantz Family Tennis Center. CMS enters the 2013 NCAA team tournament as the #1 seed in the field and top seed in the West Regional. The five team regional consists of #1 CMS, #5 Cal Lutheran, #12 UC Santa Cruz, #13 Redlands, and #28 University of Texas at Dallas.

The top seeded Stags will face the winner of fourth seed Redlands and fifth seed University of Texas at Dallas on Saturday at 10:00 AM. The winner of that match will face the winner of second seed Cal Lutheran and third seed UC Santa Cruz on Sunday at 12 Noon. There will be live streaming of all CMS matches, and live scoring for all of the matches.

The NCAA Division III team championships is a single-elimination tournament with the first, second and third rounds played at regional sites, May 10-12.  Kalamazoo College will host the team championships finals, which will be held May 20-22 at Stowe Stadium in Kalamazoo, Michigan. Student-athletes selected to the individual championships will be announced Wednesday, May 8.

The championships provide for a 44-team tournament. Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 30 conference champions, which form "Pool A."  Seven teams are selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B).  The remaining seven teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference's AQ (Pool C).  The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.

Championships Central Homepage