Men's tennis finishes as D-III national runner-up

Joe Dorn (Photo by Ellen Friedlander)
Joe Dorn (Photo by Ellen Friedlander)

(Postmatch Interview)

CLAREMONT, Calif. – In the final match of the NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Championships, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps lost a heartbreaker to second ranked Amherst 5-3. With the win, Amherst becomes national champions for the second time since 2011 and completes their season with a 36-3 overall record. CMS becomes the runner up for the seventh time in program history and second consecutive year, and finishes with the best overall record in program history of 30-2.

CMS started the match strong as Warren Wood and Joe Dorn defeated Joey Fritz and Justin Reindel of AC 8-6 at the No. 1 doubles position.  Amherst quickly countered with their first point of the match as Chris Dale and Michael Solimano defeated Nik Marino and Zhenya Pereverzin of CMS at No. 3 doubles by an 8-6 score. Thes Stags' Skyler Butts and Neel Kotrappa then gave CMS a 2-1 advantage, defeating Aaron Revzin and Andrew Yaraghi 8-4 at No. 2 doubles.

Looking to capitalize on doubles momentum, CMS hoped to start strong in all six singles positions. Instead it was Amherst who struck frist blood, winning five of six first sets to shift control of the championship match their way. Michael Solimano defeated Nik Marino of CMS 6-2, 7-6 (7-5) at No. 3 singles to even up the score at two matches all, after Marino had served for the second set at 5-4 and 6-5, and had led 5-3 in the tie-break. 

CMS answered back at No. 2 singles as Joe Dorn avenged a March 21st defeat to Amherst's Chris Dale in straight sets.  However, Andrew Yaraghi of Amherst was the first of three consecutive singles winners, defeating Zhenya Pereverzin at No. 5 singles 6-1, 7-5 to again level the match at 3-all.  Amherst's Justin Reindel came back from a break down in the second set to defeat Glenn Hull of CMS 6-3, 6-4 at the No. 6 position.  Appropriately, Amherst got their fifth and clinching point to win the national championship from senior Joey Fritz, as he defeated Warren Wood  6-2, 3-6, 6-2 at No. 1 singles. 

Action for CMS continues as Wood, Dorn, Marino, and Butts all play tomorrow, May 22 in the singles portion of the D-III Men's Tennis National Championships at 8:45 a.m. at Biszantz Family Tennis Center.  Also the CMS No. 1 doubles team of Wood and Dorn along with the No. 2 doubles team of Neel Kotrappa and Skyler Butts will be taking the court on May 22 at 3:00 p.m. for the doubles portion of the D-III Men's Tennis National Championships.

#1 Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (3) vs. #2 Amherst (5)
May 21, 2014 at Claremont, CA (Biszantz Family Tennis Center) - NCAA Team Championship Final

1. Joe Dorn / Warren Wood (CMS) def. Joey Fritz / Justin Reindel (Amherst) 8-4
2. Neel Kotrappa / Skyler Butts (CMS) def. Andrew Yaraghi / Aaron Revzin (Amherst)  8-4
3. Chris Dale / Michael Solimano (Amherst) def. Nik Marino / Zhenya Pereverzin (CMS) 8-6

1. Joey Fritz (Amherst) def. Warren Wood (CMS) 6-2, 3-6, 6-2
2. Joe Dorn (CMS) def. Chris Dale (Amherst) 7-6(3), 6-2
3. Michael Solimano (Amherst) def. Nikolas Marino (CMS) 6-2, 7-6(5)
4. Skyler Butts (CMS) vs. Anton Zykov (Amherst) 6-7(7), 6-6(5-4) DNF
5. Andrew Yaraghi (Amherst) def. Zhenya Pereverzin (CMS) 6-1, 7-5
6. Justin Reindel (Amherst) def. Glenn Hull (CMS) 6-3, 6-4

Order of completion
Doubles: 1, 3, 2
Singles: 3, 5, 2, 6

Become a fan of CMS Athletics on Facebook: AthleticsCMS
Follows CMS Athletics on Twitter: @AthleticsCMS
CMS Athletics on Instagram: cmsathletics
Watch CMS Athletics videos on YouTube: ClaremontMuddScripps