Stags open NCAA action with 5-1 win over Cruz

Warren Wood and Nik Marino (photo Ellen Friedlander)
Warren Wood and Nik Marino (photo Ellen Friedlander)

Juniors Warren Wood (Del Mar, CA) and Nik Marino (San Diego, CA) each contributed two victories as #1 Claremont-Mudd-Scripps advanced to the 3rd round of the NCAA team championships with a 5-1 win over #22 UC Santa Cruz. CMS improves to 27-1 on the season and will face #10 Pomona-Pitzer for the third time this year in the Round of 16.

The Stags again displayed their doubles strength, this time taklng two of three doubles pro-sets for their 27th advantage after doubles in 28 opportunities. Marino and Zhenya Pereverzin (Sr. Capt - Clackamas, OR) got CMS on the scoreboard first with an 8-4 win at #3 doubles. Wood and Joe Dorn (Jr. - Washington D.C.) put the Stags up 2-0 with their 8-3 win at #1, before Santa Cruz avoided the doubles sweep with a win at #2.

With a 2-1 advantage heading into singles, Stags' sophomore Skyler Butts (Santa Ana, CA) increased CMS' margin to 3-1 with his 30th win of the year at #4 singles. Marino followed moments later with his 22nd win at #3 to put CMS a match away from clinching. Wood sealed it for the Stags, coming back from a break down in the second set to complete the straight set win at #1.

CMS will face Pomona-Pitzer for the second time in a week, having clinched the SCIAC title with a win over the Sagehens on May 3 at Cal State Northridge. Match time is 2:00 PM Saturday at the Biszantz Family Tennis Center.

#1 Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (5) vs. #22 UC Santa Cruz (1)
May 9, 2014 at Claremont, CA (Biszantz Family Tennis Center) - NCAA 2nd Round

1. Joe Dorn / Warren Wood (CMS) def. Eli Scandalis / Chris Goetz (UC Santa Cruz) 8-3
2. Max Littlejohn / Kyle Richter (UC Santa Cruz) def.  Neel Kotrappa / Skyler Butts (CMS) 8-4
3. Nik Marino / Zhenya Pereverzin (CMS) def. Garrett Deguchi / Chetan Munugala (UC Santa Cruz) 8-4

1. Warren Wood (CMS) def. Eli Scandalis (UC Santa Cruz 6-2, 6-4
2. Joe Dorn (CMS) vs. Max Littlejohn (UC Santa Cruz) 6-1, 1-2 DNF
3. Nik Marino (CMS) def. Garrett Deguchi (UC Santa Cruz) 6-0, 6-0
4. Skyler Butts (CMS) def. Kyle Richter (UC Santa Cruz) 6-0, 6-2
5. Daniel Morkovine (CMS) vs. Jimmy Soper (UC Santa Cruz) 6-1, 4-0 DNF
6. Zhenya Pereverzin (CMS) def. Chris Goetz (UC Santa Cruz) 6-6 (6-6) DNF

Order of completion
Doubles: 3, 1, 2
Singles: 4, 3, 1