Men's tennis claims SCIAC title for 9th straight season

2014 SCIAC Champions (Photo Ellen Friedlander)
2014 SCIAC Champions (Photo Ellen Friedlander)

#1 CMS Stags Tennis won its ninth consecutive SCIAC title with an emphatic 9-0 win over #10 Pomona-Pitzer on Saturday at the Matador Courts of Cal State Northridge. The SCIAC tournament title marked the Stags' 85th straight win in conference without a loss, a streak dating back to 2005.

The Stags turned three tense doubles matches into their 17th sweep of the season, led by juniors Warren Wood (Del Mar, CA) and Joe Dorn (Washington D.C.) who avenged two previous losses to Pomona-Pitzer's Chris Wiechert and Anthony Bello at the top position. The Stags' number two team of Skyler Butts (So. - Santa Ana, CA) and Neel Kotrappa (Sr. - La Verne, CA) had leads of 6-3 and 7-5, and hung on for a 7-0 tie-break victory to stay perfect against D3 opponents this year. Nik Marino (Jr. - San Diego, CA) and Zhenya Pereverzin (Sr. Capt. - Clackamas, OR) got CMS on the board first with their 8-6 win at #3.

CMS wasted little time in clinching their 22nd conference title in program history, as Marino and Butts earned straight set wins at #3 and #4 singles to put the Stags up 5-0. Wood's win at #1 was closely followed by freshman Daniel Morkovine's (San Carlos, CA) victory at #5, both by identical 6-1, 6-4 scores. To complete the shutout, Dorn and Pereverzin needed three set wins at #2 and #6.

CMS completes the regular season with a 26-1 overall record, and a perfect 10-0 in SCIAC. The Stags await news of the NCAA tournament draw which will be announced on Monday. CMS will be the #1 seed and is expected to host the first three rounds at the Biszantz Family Tennis Center, May 9-11.

#1 Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (9) vs. #10 Pomona-Pitzer (0)
May 3, 2014 at Northridge, CA (Matador Courts - Cal State Northridge) - SCIAC Tournament Championship

1. Joe Dorn / Warren Wood (CMS) def. Chris Wiechert / Anthony Bello (Pomona-Pitzer) 8-6
2. Neel Kotrappa / Skyler Butts (CMS) def. Jonathan Kim / Sam Crawford (Pomona-Pitzer) 9-8(0)
3. Nik Marino / Zhenya Pereverzin (CMS) def. Graham Maassen / Connor Hudson (Pomona-Pitzer) 8-6

1. Warren Wood (CMS) def. Jake Yasgoor (Pomona-Pitzer) 6-1, 6-4
2. Joe Dorn (CMS) def. Chris Wiechert (Pomona-Pitzer) 4-6, 6-1, 6-4
3. Nik Marino (CMS) def. Connor Hudson (Pomona-Pitzer) 6-2, 6-1
4. Skyler Butts (CMS) def. Graham Maassen (Pomona-Pitzer) 6-3, 6-2
5. Daniel Morkovine (CMS) def. Joshua Kim (Pomona-Pitzer) 6-1, 6-4
6. Zhenya Pereverzin (CMS) def. Anthony Bello (Pomona-Pitzer) 6-4, 4-6, 6-1

Order of completion
Doubles: 3, 1, 2
Singles: 3, 4, 1, 5, 2, 6