Wartburg and McMurry Earn Division III Track & Field Championships

Wartburg and McMurry Earn Division III Track & Field Championships

McMurry's men and Wartburg's women earned the team championships at the Division III Track & Field Championships in Claremont on Saturday.  26 individual and four relay titles were captured on the final day of competition.  Below is a recap of the final day.


Meet favorite McMurry did not disappoint on its way to earning its first outdoor national title in four years, collecting 66 points for the team title.  The War Hawks placed ahead of Wisconsin-La Crosse (41), Wisconsin-Stout (38), Wisconsin-Oshkosh (35) and Wisconsin-Eau Claire to round out the top five positions. 

McMurry posted four event titles led by double winner Kevin Cunningham, who helped pace the War Hawks by capturing both the 400 meter dash and 400 meter hurdle events. 

Wisconsin-Stout senior Tim Nelson was also a double winner during the championships.  Two days removed from his victory in the 10,000 meters, Nelson captured the 5,000 with a stadium record of 14:15.31.

Colby's Dominique Kone, who went 10.39 during Friday's 100 meter dash prelims, blazed to a 10.24 clocking in the final for the third-fastest time in Division III history.  Sean Bernstein of Oneonta State, the runner-up in the 100 meters, returned to capture the 200 meters with a meet record of 20.80.  St. Norberg freshman Justin Johnson sparkled in the 110 meter hurdles with the second-fastest time in Division III history, clocking in with a meet record of 13.79 for the victory.

In the 400, Cunningham outsprinted La Verne's Marcus Fortugno over the final 50 meters to earn first place in 46.98.  Fortugno finished in 47.16 to notch the runner-up spot for the second straight year.  He returned for an encore in the 400 meter hurdles, moving from fifth to first in the final portion of the race to win in 51.13 with Rowan's Demetrius Brooks taking second at 51.25.

In a very competitive 800 meter race, Wabash junior Jake Waterman outdueled St. Thomas's Mike Hutton down the stretch to capture first place in a time of 1:49.41 with Hutton earning second in 1:49.78.  Wisconsin-Stevens Point sophomore Dan Sullivan ran 54.6 in the final lap en route to a 3:55.38 victory in the 1500 meters.

In the 3,000 meter steeplechase, Calvin's Nick Kramer, a third place finisher from a year ago, set a personal best of 8:51.01 for the win as Middlebury's Jack Davies finished second in 8:54.61.

McMurry claimed first place with an effort of 40.62 in the 4 x 100 meter relay while Rowan successfully defended its title in the 4 x 400 meter relay with a winning time of 3:10.56.

Among the field events, North Central's Peter Geraghty set an NCAA DIII meet record in the pole vault, clearing 17-8 ½ to repeat as champion while also leading a 1-2-3 Cardinal sweep.  Wisconsin River Falls freshman Mike Sandle captured the men's triple jump with a lifetime best of 51-2 ¼ as defending champ Isaac Vazquez placed second at 50-9 ¼.

In the shot put, Paul Davis aided McMurry's path to a team title by winning the event with a toss of 60-10 ½ .

Rutgers-Camden's Tim Van liew won a tight battle in the javelin to win with a toss of 220-5, besting top seed and defending champion Gary Zack of Moravian (220-3) by two inches.


Wartburg was a landslide winner of the NCAA Outdoor Championships, earning a total of 129 points, the fourth-highest scoring total in Division III en route to claiming its third outdoor title and second in four seasons.  Wisconsin-Oshkosh was a distant second with 52 points.  Wartburg captured five events and freshman Alana Enabnit was a double winner for the Knights by adding a 5,000 meter crown to her 10,000 meter win from two nights earlier.  Enabnit won the 5K in a stadium record of 16:54.04 with teammate Laura Sigmund placing second.

Twin sisters Nevada Morrison and Skye Morrison went 1-2 the 400 meters with Nevada anchoring the winning 4 x 400 meter relay for the sixth straight NCAA outdoor title for the Knights in that event.  The relay win was Nevada's eighth overall national title in that event for her career.

Methodist's Ashlynn Chavis successfully defended her 100 meter title with a wind-aided 11.55 which is the fastest under any conditions in Division III history.  Chavis joined teammates Marlena Rodriquez, Erica Powell and Bria Wilson to capture the 4 x 100 meter relay with a Division III record of 45.65 to claim that event for the second straight year.

Birmingham-Southern sophomore Tiarra Goode racked up 22 individual points on the day.  She ran 13.87 to win the 100 meter hurdles while also placing third in both the 100 meter (11.91) and 200 meter (24.35) dash events.

Mount Union junior Mary Mahoney, a third-place finisher in the 400 meters, won a tight battle to claim the 200 meters in 24.26.

In the middle distances, Emily Schudrowitz from St. Norbert (2:07.44) nipped Coe's Keelie Finnel (2:07.50) at the finish to win the 800 meters while Wisconsin-Oshkosh's Christy Cazzola ran 4:25.67 to claim first place in the 1500.

In the 400 meter hurdles, Heather Gearity of Montclair State, last year's runner-up and top seed, won the title in 1:00.27 to hold off MIT's Jamie Simmons (1:00.36).

Top seed Keri Lambert of Amherst was a wire-to-wire winner in the 3,000 meter steeplechase, setting a stadium record of 10:27.32 to claim the victory.  Lambert won by more than nine seconds over second place finisher Emily Canales of Redlands (10:36.62).

Linfield's Catherine Street set an NCAA meet record in the pole vault with a clearance of 13-9 ¼ to best Moravian's Abigail Schaffer (13-7 ¼).  In the triple jump, it was déjà vu for Illinois College's Melissa Norville, who captured the event at 41-3 ¼ - the same exact distance in which she won the indoor title. 

In the shot put, top seeded Breanna Strupp of Wisconsin Oshkosh was the winner with a toss of 48-9 ½ .  Cal Lutheran's Britlyn Garrett captured the javelin, providing the lone event title among the Southern California schools at the championships with a lifetime best of 154-8 on her final throw.


Final Results

For interviews of the event winners follow this link: