Back To Back SCIAC Titles For CMS Lacrosse

Back To Back SCIAC Titles For CMS Lacrosse

CMS earned their second consecutive SCIAC title by defeating cross-street rival Pomona-Pitzer 16-7 in the SCIAC Tournament final at Redlands on Sunday.  The Athenas went undefeated in SCIAC (10-0) for the second straight year and improved their overall record to 15-2.

CMS opened the game with four straight goals.  Madi Shove scored the first of the contest. Captain Kaitlyn Desai jumped off with a pair of goals in the first four scores and played strong through out. Pomona-Pitzer netted a pair of goals and came within their closest reach of the contest, 4-2 at 13:54. This was the only back to back goal set that the Athenas allowed.  The goals came from Logan Galansky and Jana London.  Galansky and London were each able to finish another to total four for the Sagehens in the first half.  

Four more Athenas stepped up and completed goals before halftime when the score read 8-4. Ali Abramovitz, Jane Eberts, Maddie Bannon, and Bayley Mullan all scored for CMS in the first thirty minutes.

The Athenas never looked back from their scoring success in the first half.  CMS went on to score eight more goals in the last thirty minutes.  Four of those goals were assisted.  Captain Sarah Dick led with two assists.  A total of nine Athenas found the back of the net in their effort to be named 2011 SCIAC Champions. Shove led with five goals.  Desai, Abramovitz, and Bannon each finished with two goals.

To complement their pair of goals Desai and Bannon led the midfielders for CMS with complete performances.  Desai scooped up five ground balls for CMS while Bannon was strong on the draw and demanded seven draw controls.  Shove and Mullan contested in the midfield as well picking up four ground balls each.

The Athenas are currently ranked 18th in the nation and await an at-large bid to the NCAA Championships. The bids will be announced Sunday, May 8th.