Stags and Athenas Earn Academic Honors

The CMS Swimming and Diving Teams received recognition from the College Swimming Coaches Association for outstanding academic achievement during the Spring 2012 semester.  The CMS Stags ranked 30th among all NCAA D-III teams with a GPA of 3.27. The Athenas ranked 40th with a 3.41 GPA.  Each semester the CSCAA honors Scholar All-American teams based on the squad's GPA for the term. To be eligible for consideration, the team must exceed 3.0 for the overall GPA.

Individually, 9 CMS swimmers and divers were named to the CSCAA Scholar All-American team. Student-athletes must achieve a 3.50 or better semester GPA. To qualify for the First Team, the student-athlete must qualify for and participate in the NCAA D-III Swimming and Diving Championships. To qualify for Honorable Mention Scholar All-American, the student-athlete must have achieved an NCAA "B" (provisional) cut during the season.


First Team CSCAA Scholar All-American

Emma Jones

Helen Liu

James Stevick


Honorable Mention CSCAA Scholar All-American

Brett Berger

Austin Hallett

Jeff McNerney

Brad Perfect

Patrick Shultz

Blake Weber


Beyond the CSCAA SAA accolades, CMS swimming and diving earned several other post-season academic honors.

The SCIAC Conference recognized 12 Athenas and 6 Stags on the SCIAC All-Academic Team for posting a greater than 3.40 GPA, completing more than two full semesters at CMC, HMC or Scripps College, and competing in the 2012 SCIAC Championships.

Athenas: Kelly Chang, Whitney Dawson, Kristie Howard, Laura Jeddeloh, Annika Jessen, Helen Liu, Nicole Lotte, Carmen Lundell, Tara McIntyre, Jaclyn Olmos-Silverman, Dana Shaker, Amy Tresenrider

Stags:  Anthony Corso, Joey Klonowski, Nathan Lenssen, Robert MacGregor, Jeff McNerney, Brad Perfect

Five CMS swimmers etched their names on the CMS "Wall of Fame" for earning First Team All-SCIAC honors and during their careers and graduating with a better than 3.0 GPA:  Katie Bilotti, Whitney Dawson, Austin Hallett, Emma Jones and Vincent Pai.

The academic honors help celebrate an excellent year for the CMS Stags and Athenas.  Both squads earned SCIAC Championships with matching 7-0 conference dual meet records and SCIAC championship meet titles. The wins helped CMS earn the 2011-12 SCIAC men's, women's and combined All-Sports trophy.

The Athenas placed 9th at the 2012 NCAA D-III Swimming and Diving Championships in Indianapolis, and the Stags placed 27th at the meet. Six CMS swimmers scored All-American trophies and one diver earned Honorable Mention All-American.

Notable individual honors went to:

SCIAC Swimming/Diving Athlete of the Year—Michele Kee

Harvey Mudd College Athlete of the Year—Vincent Pai


At the CMS swimming and diving team's awards banquet, the following student-athletes were honored:


Outstanding Swimming—Vincent Pai

Outstanding Diver—James Stevick

Rookie of the Year—Marc Blumberg/James Stevick

Quantum Leap—Joey Klonowski

Shoenfeld (Most Inspirational)—Jordan Lieberman


Outstanding Swimmer—Michele Kee

Outstanding Diver—Carmen Lundell

Rookie of the Year—LillyBelle Deer

Quantum Leap—Alex Forsyth

Critchell (Most Inspirational)—Emma Jones