Women’s Tennis Selected To Host NCAA Regional May 10-12

Women’s Tennis Selected To Host NCAA Regional May 10-12

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – With the No. 2 ranking in Division III and a 28-0 record, the Claremont-Mudd-Scripps women's tennis team has been selected as a regional host for the first three rounds of the 2013 NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Championships, May 10-12, the NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Committee announced Monday. Over the weekend, the Athenas won the SCIAC Championships for the second year in a row.

Joining the Athenas in the talented West Regional pool are No. 14 U.C. Santa Cruz, No. 29 Texas-Dallas, No. 11 Redlands, No. 17 Whitman and No. 10 Pomona-Pitzer. Both CMS and Pomona-Pitzer have first round byes when play begins on Friday, May 10. CMS will play the winner of Santa Cruz and Texas-Dallas in the second round.

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament with the first, second and third rounds played at regional sites, May 10-12.  Kalamazoo College will host the team championships finals, which will be held May 20-22 at Stowe Stadium in Kalamazoo, Michigan. Student-athletes selected to the individual championships will be announced Wednesday, May 8.

The championships provide for a 50-team tournament. Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 38 conference champions, which form "Pool A."  Three teams are selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B).  The remaining nine teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference's AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions (Pool C).  The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.

NCAA Championships Field
Printable Bracket (PDF)

Become a fan of CMS Athletics on Facebook: AthleticsCMS
Follows CMS Athletics on Twitter: @AthleticsCMS