Top-seeded doubles team highlights Athenas participating at Ojai Tournament

Caroline Ward and Katie Kuosman (Photo by Milan Reed)
Caroline Ward and Katie Kuosman (Photo by Milan Reed)

OJAI, Calif. – Draws and seeding for the 115th annual Ojai Valley Tennis Tournament which runs from April 23-26 have been released and six Claremont-Mudd-Scripps women's tennis players are competing in either the Independent College Singles or Doubles bracket. Play gets underway in singles early on April 23 while doubles action begins in the afternoon for CMS' participants.

In the Women's Independent College Singles bracket, junior Caroline Ward (CMC) is seeded fourth while sophomore Katie Kuosman (CMC) is seeded eighth and senior Sarah Kukino (CMC) is 15th. The top-16 players are seeded in the Women's Independent College Singles bracket and there are a total of 55 participants. Ward and Kuosman also enter the weekend as the top-seeded doubles pairing out of 23 teams. The duo won the doubles championship at Ojai last season.

Opening Round Singles Draws
Lindsay Brown vs. Madeline Heer (Biola)
Bria Smith (first round opponent withdrew) vs. Laina Matsuda (La Verne)/ Jax E. Mota (Biola) winner
Katie Kuosman (first round bye) vs. Alyssa Penner (Hope)/ Emily W. Chen (Pomona-Pitzer) winner
Caroline Ward (first round bye) vs. Caroline Houston (Hope)/ Benay Weintraub (Whittier) winner
Sarah Kukino vs. Nada Marjanovic (Abilene Christian) winner

Opening Round Doubles Draws
Kuosman and Ward (first round bye) vs. Gordon/Zhao (Pomona-Pitzer)/ Houston/Pritchett (Hope) winner
Kyla Scott (HMC) and Kukino (first round bye) vs. Petrzalkova/Prudhomme (Grand Canyon)

For information and results throughout the weekend, please visit the webpages linked below.


Sign up for CMS Email Updates
Become a fan of CMS Athletics on Facebook: AthleticsCMS
Follow CMS Athletics on Twitter: @AthleticsCMS
CMS Athletics on Instagram: cmsathletics
Watch CMS Athletics videos on YouTube: ClaremontMuddScripps